The choir is a faithful group of 7 to 10 people who share their talents with the congregation every week and provide meaningful music to add to the worship experience. New members and "drop-in singers" are always welcome. Weekly choir rehearsal takes place in the choir loft Thursdays from 6:30p.m. - 7:30p.m. and at 9:15 on Sunday mornings for the 10:00 a.m. worship service.
In February 1994, Alan Lush donated a beautiful set of handbells in memory of his mother, Carolyn C. Lush. A bell choir was formed and has been playing regularly since 1995. The current choir consists of 7 ringers and covers 2 1/2 octaves (3 on a good day). We have another octave in storage, so more ringers are welcome. Rehearsals take place on Thursdays at 5:30p.m. The bell choir is a wonderful way for non-singers to participate in the music program of the church.
The organ, built and installed in 1845 by Henry Erben of New York City, is the oldest organ in a Long Island church. It was enlarged in 1872 by the firm of Earle and Bradley of Riverhead. The case is a miniature of the church facade, decorated with a cornice of carved whale's teeth and blubber spades. It is a "tracker" organ, using the same mechanism found in European organs dating back to Bach and Buxtehude. The organ was completely restored, including the hand pumping mechanism, and was rededicated in October 1978. Major pipe and mechanism work has been performed, most recently in 2004.
| Our Organist and Choir Director - Dominic Abbatte